Members of the SUNY Maritime Foundation Board of Directors serve for up to two renewable three-year terms. Board members are distinguished alumni and business executives representing a variety of industries, perspectives and backgrounds. They work with the college administration to strengthen and advocate on behalf of the college.

Board of Directors 


Capt. Robert Johnston ’69, retired president and CEO of Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.


John M. Bree ’78, vice chairman; retired Executive of Exxon Mobil Corporation 

William F. Austen ’80, retired president and CEO of Bemis Company, Inc.

Michael Chalos '70, Of Counsel, Chalos Law

William C. Gallo ‘70, retired president of Pasternak, Baum & Company, Inc. and Columbia Grain Trading, Inc.

Capt. Ioannis (John) Frangos ’85, ’87, chairman and CEO of Seaways Maritime International  

Joe Maurelli ’63, retired president, CEO and Chairman of Techmatics, Inc.

A.J. McAllister ‘80, senior vice president, McAllister Towing and Transportation, Inc.

Ex-Officio Directors

Rear Adm. Michael Alfultis, President, SUNY Maritime College

Aimee Bernstein, Executive Director, SUNY Maritime Foundation

Roxanne Thompson, Vice President of Finance & Administration, SUNY Maritime College